Arkansas Auto Accident Settlement
An Arkansas auto accident settlement is something many people are in serious need of after being involved in an auto accident which happened in the state of Arkansas.
This southern state has many travelers since it borders six other states and is easy to travel through. The mountains and lowlands of the state make the state appealing to travelers.
How to Get Money From An Auto Accident?
How Much is My Claim Worth?
Enter Your Information Below Now to Get a FREE Injury Claim Evaluation
There are thousands of auto accident problems that happen across the United Stateseach day. In Arkansas alone, there were over 63,000 car accidents that happened in the year 2008. These statistics can be worrying, but you shouldn’t allow yourself to get scared off the road by unsafe drivers.
If you are trying to get an Arkansas auto accident settlement, you need to know the laws of the road. If you go into court or try to get a settlement without knowing the laws in AR, you are not going to get far. We will discuss some of this information below.
Rules of the Road
Arkansas fault is called proportional comparative fault @ 50%. This means if you were injured and were less than 50% at fault for the crash, you will be entitled to compensation. If you were 50% or more at fault, you would not be entitled to an Arkansas auto accident settlement. This law is not only for Arkansas since the states of Colorado, Georgia, Idaho, Kansas, Maine, Nebraska, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Tennessee, Utah and West Virginia also use the proportional comparative fault @ 50% law to determine settlement in their crash claims.
You need to have proper auto insurance coverage for your AR vehicle whenever you are on the roads. If you are not adhering to the law, you may not be entitled to an Arkansas auto accident settlement, even if you were not the one that would have been considered at fault. There are some auto accident cases that people get a settlement from an AR accident even when they did not have auto insurance, but this is not often.
When you are searching through your auto insurance, you must make sure that you have at least $25,000 per person for bodily injury, $50,000 per accident for bodily injury and $20,000 per accident for property. While uninsured motorist coverage for bodily injury is not required legally in the state or Arkansas, it would be suggested that you look into this since it may save you a lot of trouble when you try to get a settlement.
Statute of Limitations
You may think you have all of the time in the world to file your car accident compensation claim so that you can get your Arkansas settlement, but this is not true. In this state and most other states, you only have three years to file your settlement claim. Some states allow even less time than three years. If you do not get the case filed within that period, you will lose your right to file.
If you want to get an Arkansas auto accident settlement, you should act quickly. You can not spend time playing around whenever you want to get a good Arkansas auto accident settlement. It is highly recommended you speak to an attorney that will be able to help you get your case started.
If your insurance company is giving you a hard time, speaking with an attorney is a way to get their attention. There seems to be a significant difference between a letter written by you and a letter of intent to sue written by a lawyer. Many times you won’t even have to go to court to get an Arkansas auto accident settlement since the insurance company will see you mean business, and cut their losses, giving you money you deserve.
Those of you that want to file your auto accident personal injury claim on your own can go into the municipal or justice court located where the person you are suing, also known as the defendant, lives or does business. You may also consider filing in a court where the crash happened. This is normally what is expected, but it is recommended that you get an attorney to do it for you so that you can get the best Arkansas auto accident settlement possible.
Before speaking with a car accident attorney, you should do everything you can by gathering information. You should gather information such as police reports, witness testimonies, photos, audio and anything else that may have to do with your claim. Whenever you have all of this together, your attorney will be able to move forward quicker. This means you have more ability to get an Arkansas auto accident settlement. You shouldn’t delay. Speak with a qualified professional in your area today, so you can get the money you deserve out of your crash.